Curling

CurlingRocksThe olympics are here! I must admit I like the winter olympics more than I like the Summer version. I love the look of snow-covered mountains, trees glistening in their white coats. It is moving. I enjoy the hockey, speed skating, ski jumping and others. My favorite of favorites is Curling. There is just something calming about that giant handled stone sliding slowly down the ice, while someone screams at people with brooms in their hands. The way they furiously sweep the ice then stop, then furiously sweep again is pure Zen for me. One of the great aspects is the speed of play, steady and unhurried . This speed allows you to go get a snack or avail yourself of the facilities without missing a moment of the action.

I joke a little but this sport of curling does have some skill. To be able to slide that giant stone down the glistening lane of ice requires a good amount of deftness. To know how much to sweep the ice with those awesome brooms, take practice and training. Sure the competitors don’t always have the prototypical athletes body, though I think that is part of the appeal. I as an everyman sitting on my couch can find an athlete to identify with.

I love to watch as many of the different sports as I can, but the channel doesn’t change once I see those ice lanes with giant blue or red or yellow rocks being slid down their shiny surface. The sound of people yelling at competitors to sweep faster, just sucks me in and I am hooked. So I hope you enjoy the olympics and whatever sports you love, but if you are flipping through the numerous olympic channels and see curling stop a minute and show it some love. I think you’ll enjoy it.

About Derek Rizzo

Author and poet since I remember, I finally decided to live my dream. I'm writing a fantasy novel. Follow-me to share my progresses and glimpses of my story as it comes to life.

Posted on February 9, 2014, in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Curling is my favorite too! 😉

Leave a Reply

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson

Contemporary Young Adult Author

