A Snowy Walk

The air has shed

It’s early morning warmth.

The sun climbs slowly

Up it’s path,

Shining golden life

Upon the cold, blustery land.

I can smell the snow coming.

My bones shiver, knowing

Soon the world I live in

Will be blanketed in white crystals.

Smothering silence will fall

As streetlights illuminate

A masterpiece of nature.

The blanketed world calls

To the child in me,

“Come walk.”

“Come play in Me.”

And I will!

I will marvel

At the silent beautiful world.

I will stare at the trees,

Clothed in shimmering white.

I will muse in the peaceful silence,

Broken only by the crunching under

My feet.

I look back to see the past,

Tracked by my footprints

In the snow.

The future is shown

In the unmarked snow

Laying before me.

Where will the future lead?

I won’t know until I

Lift and place my footsteps,

One after the other,

In whatever direction I choose.

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Poem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson

Contemporary Young Adult Author

