My First Contest

Well here it goes, I plan on submitting to my first poetry contest some time this week. It’s a little daunting, you know sending part of your soul to some faceless board or group to be judged. I must say once the rolling waves of fear subsided I became pretty excited, I mean I know It’s unlikely I’ll win on my first try, but you can’t win if you’re not in the game.  I am just stuck now on whether to use one of my old favorites or try to write a masterpiece in the next week. O.K. I know I am probably not gonna write my best poem ever under pressure with only a limited time frame, but sometimes you look at the old stuff and doubt.  Who am I kidding I look at everything and doubt, though there are a few that I think are really good, (Just being modest there) I only hope they’re good enough.

If you’ve ever entered a poetry contest maybe you have a few words of wisdom for me, or some tips. I’d love to hear them, as a few well placed words can help all of us learn, and if you’re not learning you are dead (or may as well be). Thanks and wish me luck.

About Derek Rizzo

Author and poet since I remember, I finally decided to live my dream. I'm writing a fantasy novel. Follow-me to share my progresses and glimpses of my story as it comes to life.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson

Contemporary Young Adult Author

