The Whistle Pt.2

Jill worked on the same floor, as Steve. She was and always would be the love of his life. Their relationship had been rocky, and they had agreed to take a break. He had tried to get her out of his mind, but it was so hard when she was always in his heart. They had both dated other people, something that never went well for Steve. He was handsome, intelligent and compassionate. These traits would have been helpful, if he could have stopped comparing his dates to Jill. Jill was dating also, and though he didn’t like it, he loved her too much to deny her happiness. He knew it was time to do whatever he could to get her back. He couldn’t be without her anymore! So here he was fumbling with something in his pocket, while carrying the contents of his newly cleaned out desk in his other hand. He made his way through the office to her desk, upon arriving he saw a few people around her desk. They seemed to be smiling and congratulating her. The people began moving away as he reached her desk. When Jill saw him, she seemed startled, but she smiled at him.

“Hey Jill. What’s with all the buzz?” Steve asked. Jill swallowed hard “Oh Steve, I wanted to discuss this with you in person. I did not want you to find out this way. The guy I have been dating has asked me to marry him.” Steve looked down at that delicate hand and saw it, an engagement ring. The sound in his head was now a potent whistle, and he began to feel dizzy. “What about us”? He said. Jill began slowly, “We’ve barely spoken lately, and our relationship was always erratic.” Steve in a crushed voice replied, “But you loved me, and some part of you still loves me, doesn’t it”? Jill replied “I did love you.., I did.” He knew what she meant, she did not love him anymore! “I love you Jill. I always have and I always will”! He turned and headed to the elevator. “Steve wait”! she said, but he couldn’t hear her. He couldn’t hear anything, but the screaming whistle in his head. He passed a garbage can on his way to the elevator. Reaching into his pocket he withdrew what he’d been fumbling with and threw it in.

Jill had been watching Him walk away, when her boss came up and asked her some questions. She answered his questions, but she was staring at Steve the whole time. She saw him pause and throw something into the garbage before he entered the elevator. She wanted to go after him, but her boss was still talking to her. As soon as she was done she told  him she was going to lunch, and went after Steve. She still loved him in a part of her heart she tried to silence. He had waited so long to say it, and she had buried it, and there it stayed nearly forgotten. Now, faced with it she wasn’t sure, should she end her engagement or go through with it? She needed to talk to Steve.

 

About Derek Rizzo

Author and poet since I remember, I finally decided to live my dream. I'm writing a fantasy novel. Follow-me to share my progresses and glimpses of my story as it comes to life.

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

An Ever Changing Writer I AM

I am a rain drop that has merged back within the ocean and in doing that I share the oceans powerful qualities.

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson

Contemporary Young Adult Author

