Pen

I have been trying to branch out. My poetry style usually involves emotions and feelings. They often start happy, and finish wistfully. or the opposite. I think the whole world comes down to how people feel. Emotion is what gives us our sense of who we are. It drives us in all we do. Yet, in some instances you must have restraint. We’ve all had a job where we wanted to say something but did not. Even in these instances drive is born, whether your impulse is to change your job, or change the way it’s implemented, or how you are treated. It all starts with how you feel. So I decided I’d challenge myself by writing about inanimate objects I saw in my home office. I chose the chair and a pen. I began to write poems about these inanimate objects, but I found along the way that my emotions about some of these objects crept into my work. It gave them a sort of life, an extension of my own thoughts and feelings. This is what happens when you write. In the book I’m working on,  I see a bit of myself in each of the main characters. They are not me but I can relate to the emotions they are feeling. I think this bleeding in of part of my soul gives these characters more depth. This is the key to bringing them to life, and It all started with emotions. Well anyway that’s enough of that diatribe. Here is one of those poems about an inanimate object, It is titled “The Pen”. I would appreciate your feedback on emotion or just what you think of the poem. Either way I hope you enjoy it.

The Pen

You spill your blood

upon the pages of

my mind.

Giving every drop

until you have given your last

in sacrifice.

My words could not

exist without you

My pages could not

be filled without you

You give

uncaring

That is your purpose

and you have fulfilled it

perfectly.

 

About Derek Rizzo

Author and poet since I remember, I finally decided to live my dream. I'm writing a fantasy novel. Follow-me to share my progresses and glimpses of my story as it comes to life.

Posted on March 17, 2013, in Poem, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I like this one:) How did you find me?

  2. I think everything, even inanimate objects, can be associated with our feelings, in some way or another. Especially a pen for a writer, which you expressed well in your poem.

  3. I love this a lot. I appreciate the short quick lines which speak nothing but the truth. You didn’t exaggerate it’s purpose, but defined it in such a way that every writer can relate. It’s wonderful(:

  4. An interesting approach. I once was in a “writing olympics” contest for one of the muse boards I was part of. The winning entry was of an old favorite tee shirt from the shirt’s POV. Very creative approach here. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing it with us.
    bidelia78@yahoo.com

  1. Pingback: Third Sunday Blog Carnival: April 2013 | Third Sunday Blog Carnival

Leave a Reply

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson

Contemporary Young Adult Author

