The Creating of A World

I’m working on a fantasy novel. I want it filled with imagery of the world the characters move through. I want to describe the flora and the fauna, and the sights and smells. I intend to draw upon my youth for this. When I was younger we had woods behind our house, and that is where I spent most of my time. We would build forts and carve out trails. At night we’d have fires (not the most brilliant idea to have fire in the woods but hey we were kids) and torches. I remember the smell of wet leaves and wood. I can still feel the coolness of the shade on a hot summer’s day. The sounds of birds calling in the trees, was soothing. I can remember the squirrels and rabbits scurrying through the underbrush. These are the things I want in my world. I want to write so the reader can smell the dampness, and feel the soft moss underfoot. I want them to hear the trickle of the water as it turns a rocky bend in a creek. Like the books of this genre I loved as a kid (and now) I want the reader to feel like they are walking in the shade under the trees in the coolness of that forest. To feel the wind as it blows through the branches, to hear the creak of the boughs. I think good characters are just as important, but I love when my brain takes over and can see a world in my mind’s eye.

Posted on January 30, 2013, in Fantasy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

Eloises Edibles

The relatable foodies blog

Words on a blackboard

In a world of poems, words steal love and put it on a blackboard

Yellingrosa Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson

Contemporary Young Adult Author