Snow

I woke up yesterday to a beautiful white world. The roofs were shimmering the grass was straining to break through the blanket of white, and touch the sunshine. My backyard which had previously been a place for leaves to go and die, was resplendent in those unique, magnificent crystalline flakes. The world was silent, quiet, only the animals stirred. Walking to the car I was hit by a snowball. My wife was laughing, and instead of wanting to throw one back, I had to pause her hair with the snowflakes in it, floored me. She looked so beautiful like she had angel feathers in her hair, she took my breath away.

A quick kiss, and we were off grocery shopping, as we passed the local golf course I saw one of my favorite things, kids sledding down the hill on the first hole. In that moment I wished I was a kid again with a brand new shiny sled. I wanted to go zipping down the hill, speeding towards that cold snowy,wet ending. My daydream came to an end as we reached the grocery store, I had to return to adulthood. The store was packed, everyone in the south acting as though we were in the northeast. Lines for checkout and no bread or milk, as though these items will somehow shovel your driveway, or melt the ice. I laughed and thought, If they could just enjoy our one little inch of snow instead of worrying they may not have a sandwich and a glass of milk. Buy a sled instead, and whizz down that hill. Enjoy it! Well I’m a “Yankee” and I grew up with it so I may be a bit biased, but there are few things as beautiful as a world dusted with fresh snow!

About Derek Rizzo

Author and poet since I remember, I finally decided to live my dream. I'm writing a fantasy novel. Follow-me to share my progresses and glimpses of my story as it comes to life.

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Everyday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

An Ever Changing Writer I AM

I am a rain drop that has merged back within the ocean and in doing that I share the oceans powerful qualities.

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

Sarah J. Carlson, Author

Writing, Travel, and Expat Observations of Singapore

The 365 Poetry Project

One poem a day for a full year. Think I'll make it?

Jodie Llewellyn

The ramblings of an aspiring YA author & book blogger

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

